Sandra Jurado, Ph.D.



 

Sandra Jurado Ph.D

sjurado@umh.es

Sandra obtained her Ph.D. at the Universidad Complutense de Madrid. She carried out postdoctoral training in the University of Michigan and Stanford University with Drs. Robert Malenka and Thomas Sudhof. She is an expert in whole-cell electrophysiology and in vivo molecular manipulation techniques to study the molecular mechanisms underlying synaptic plasticity. She currently leads the Synaptic Neuromodulation Lab at The Instituto de Neurociencias in Alicante. Her laboratory aims to understand how neuronal circuits adapt during health and disease .

Principal Investigator

Postdoctoral Fellows

Pilar Madrigal Ph.D.

mmadrigal@umh.es

Pilar obtained her Ph.D. in 2019 at the C.E.U. (Valencia). She is interested in understanding how neuronal circuits related to social behavior are formed and the alterations that underlie social deficits such as autism spectrum disorders. She is an expert in brain clarification techniques and Light Sheet microscopy.

Maria Royo Ph.D.

mroyo@umh.es

Maria obtained her Ph.D. in 2014 at the CBMSO (CSIC). She is interested in understanding the basic principles governing synaptic plasticity in the brain She is an expert in ex vivo electrophysiology and in vivo two-photon microscopy.

Predoctoral Students

Adrian Portales B.S.

aportales@umh.es

Adrian graduated in Biology from Universidad de Valencia and pursued a Master in Neuroscience in the same university. He is interested in understanding how neuronal circuits adapt during healthy and patholigal aging.

Beatriz Aznar B.S.

baznar@umh.es

Beatriz obtained a B.S. in Biology from Universidad Miguel Hernandez. She is interested in understanding how endogenous neuropeptides like oxytocin and vasopresin are secreted from neurons and how their release regulates complex behaviors such as social interaction.

Research Technitian

Maria Perez SanJuan

mperez@umh.es

Research Technitian